The Georgetown University Law Center highlighted the achievements of its alumni and affiliates by announcing Tuesday the recipients of the Paul R. Dean Awards and the Law Center Alumni Awards.

“The Paul R. Dean Awards . are given annually to graduates of the Law Center who have exhibited leadership to their alma mater and to the legal profession,” Kara Tershel, director of media relations at the Law Center, said.

Established in 1994, the award is named for the former Law Center dean, Paul R. Dean, who died earlier this year.

The five recipients of the Paul R. Dean Award are leaders in their professions. Recipients included John Delaney (LAW ’88), Philip Inglima (CAS ’84, LAW ’88) , Handel Lee (LAW ’88), Marc Morial (LAW ’83) and Carol O’Neil (LAW ’88).

The Law Center honored Thomas Reynolds (C ’48, GRD ’91) with the second annual Dean’s Award for Distinguished Service. This award was created by Alexander Aleinikoff, the dean of the Law Center, for Georgetown graduates who are not from the Law Center, but have served as strong advocates for the center and the legal profession. Reynolds is a graduate of the McDonough School of Business and Emory University School of Law. He currently serves as a member of Georgetown’s board of directors.

The Law Center Alumni Awards were given at the annual Women’s Forum on Oct. 17. The focus this year was “Globalization 2008: Georgetown Alumnae Staying Ahead of the Curve.”

The five winners of the award include four alumnae and one professor. Shavit Matias (LAW ’91), a recipient, provided the keynote address. Matias is a deputy attorney general at the Israeli Ministry of Justice, where she heads the Department for International Agreements and International Litigation.

Kathleen Nealon (CAS ’75, LAW ’78), another recipient, spoke at the forum luncheon. Nealon currently works on the board as a non-executive director of Halifax Bank of Scotland, Cable and Wireless, and Shire Plc., and has also worked in private firms and with the New York branch of the Standard Chartered Bank.

Elizabeth Patterson, an associate professor at the Law Center, Celia Roady (LAW ’78) and Lucinda Trent (LAW ’96) also received Law Center Alumni Awards.

Comments are closed.