Sport: Basketball

Position: Forward

Hometown: Oxon Hill, Md.

High School: Oxon Hill High School

School/Year: COL ’04

Major: Sociology

High School Highlights: A First Team All-Met selection as a senior and a Third-Team pick as a junior . averaged 20.5 points and 15.2 rebounds as a senior.

Georgetown Highlights: Named Big East Women’s Basketball Co-Player of the Week . Georgetown 2002: Led the team in points per game (15.1) and rebounds per game (8.5) . Held the team’s third highest shooting percentage (.481) . Scored a season-high 29 points against George Washington . Set two Georgetown records, free throws made and attempted during the GW game . Chosen for the Big East’s 2001-02 Honorable Mention team . Earned the Co-MVP award for the second straight season . 2001: Named the 2000-01 Big East Rookie of the Year and was the team’s Co-MVP . First freshman to win the Big East rebounding title (9.2 per game) . Named the conference’s Rookie of the Week six times . All-Big East Honorable Mention selection as a rookie . Had 293 rebounds, the second highest single-season total in GU history . Member of the Big East All-Star team which toured Germany after the season.

Coolest place you’ve ever traveled: The summer after my freshman year I went to Germany and Belgium with the Big East All-Star team. We were there for about two weeks. We did a lot of sightseeing and went to a few different cities, and we had a chance to go shopping which was cool. It was just a totally different atmosphere – it was nice.

Athlete you’d most like to meet: I’d say Michael Jordan because he was such an intense player.

Best way to procrastinate: There are so many ways . probably talking on the phone. My roommates are really talkative and funny, so I talk to them a lot, too.

Favorite professor at Georgetown: Professor [Shelly] Habel, a professor for all the sociology classes I’ve been taking. She’s very helpful, and I like how she’s interested in athletics, so she comes to the games. She’s just very supportive and helps me out.

First thing you would do if you won the lottery: I would buy my mother a house – wherever she wanted.

Favorite way to spend free time: I go play pool, go to the movies a lot and rent movies. I’m a big movie person.

Favorite movie: Above the Rim.

Worst movie you’ve seen: Reign of Fire.

Biggest sacrifice you’ve had to make for sports: All the sacrifices I’ve made for basketball have been easy because I’m doing what I like to do. But there’s not much free time, which comes from the travel. I don’t have a lot of time to work and I get no Spring Break, which is big for students. But no complaints.

First thing you think when you wake up in the morning: “I wish I was not getting up right now.”

Where do you see yourself five years from now? Hopefully playing basketball somewhere. If not here, then overseas. Ideally, if I’m overseas I’d play in Italy or France. If I’m here, I’d probably like to play for the Mystics. If I’m not playing basketball, I want to work for the FBI, doing forensics.

One thing you hope to accomplish before you die: I want to be a millionaire by the time I’m 35, so we’ll see if that works out.

Siblings: I have a twin brother, Matthew, an older brother, Suja, and an older sister, Samantha.

Do you get nervous before a game? Yes, before every game. Once the game starts it usually goes away, it’s just before tip-off. Before the game I repeat some things in my head over and over again. If you ever see me during the National Anthem, I’m always saying things over to myself.

Favorite home-cooked meal: Stuffed peppers. It’s not really a meal, but it’s really good.

If you could play on any other Georgetown team, which one would it be and why? Probably the volleyball team even though I didn’t like to play volleyball. But when I go to their games they’re really intense and they look like they get along really well. They’re really close-knit – I like their program. Lacrosse is also really cool.

Who is your personal role model and why? I don’t really have a role model. If I ever need advice or anything I ask our old assistant coach, Niki Reid. She went to coach at Fordham, but I call her or e-mail her if I ever need anything.

Three magazines on your ideal coffee table: Slam, Sports Illustrated and Discovery Magazine.

Favorite CD: Bitter by Michelle Ndegeocello. She has her own eclectic style – it’s mellow, really soft.

Least favorite type of music: Country.

One thing you’d take with you if your house were on fire: I’d probably try to grab a trophy or something.

What do you think is the biggest misconception about female basketball players? I think a lot of people think that female athletes are extremely and overly aggressive, and that’s not always the case.

What is the biggest misconception that others have of you personally? A lot of people think that I’m mean, but I’m not. Not people who actually know me, but people who see me.

One thing you’d like to be remembered for: Just being a well-rounded, down-to-earth person.

Characteristic you value most in a friend: Honesty.

Favorite quote or personal motto: One of my teammates said something in the locker room the other day – she said, “In order to be champions, you have to beat champions.” As far as basketball is concerned, I think that’s really on target. Also, I like the quote, “If you’re not training, someone else is training to kick your butt.”

One word you’d use to describe yourself: Virtuous.

One word your twin would use to describe you: Understanding.

Most interesting job you’ve ever had: Over the summer I worked as a consultant for this Bio-tech company. It was interesting to see all of the difficult situations they put themselves in – they had to deal with off-the-hook people.

Do you play any instruments: No, but I used to play the flute for two years. I sucked.

Favorite basketball memory: I guess it’d be the trip to Germany because I was able to interact with different players from different teams that I wouldn’t have had the opportunity to meet otherwise. You get to go somewhere you’ve never been with those people. It was a lot of fun.

Something you do when you’re having a bad day: I just try to talk to people and let their positivity rub off.

Person who knows you the best: It would be my older brother, Suja.

One piece of advice you would give to an incoming freshman: Don’t get outside yourself. I know I lost my mind when I got here – it was all fun, fun, fun. But you’ll have time for the partying and all that. Just stay focused.

What’s under your bed right now? Shoes, shoes, a lot of shoes. I have a shoe fetish.

Have a reaction to this article? Write a letter to the editor.

Comments are closed.