2011 Georgetown graduate Charlie Buckingham has been named the 2011 recipient of the Everett B. Morris Trophy, awarded by the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association to the college sailor of the year.

Buckingham, who also won the award during his sophomore season in 2009, is one of only five sailors to win the award twice. The honor marks the fourth time in six years that a Hoya has been the recipient of the college sailor of the year award. Chris Behm (MSB ’08) received the trophy in 2008 and Andrew Campbell (SFS ’06) was honored in his senior season.

After wrapping up the ICSA National Championships this week, Buckingham plans to compete in the qualifiers for the 2012 London Olympics with the ultimate goal being the 2016 games in Rio de Janeiro.

Georgetown juniors Sydney Bolger and Rebecca Evans and seniors Ashley Phillips and Scott Furnary were also named All-Americans, increasing the Blue and Gray’s haul of award winners this year to five.

Have a reaction to this article? Write a letter to the editor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *